Thursday, January 22, 2009

On the Edge of Our Seats!

Every January since 1922, the American Library Association announces 2 of the most prestigious awards given for children's literature. These are the Caldecott Medal and the Newbery Medal. The Caldecott was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator, Randolph Caldecott and is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller, John Newbery, and is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Both medals are given annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. For weeks prior to the announcement, lovers of children's literature start speculating about who the winners will be. Every year I wager a little bet with myself but I have yet to guess the correct winners. If you're interested in learning more about these awards and how the voting process works go to and click away! The winners will be announced at a press conference on Monday January, 26 so check online sometime that day. Here are the 2008 winners:

First the Newbery

By Laura Amy Schlitz

And the Caldecott

The Invention of Hugo Cabret
By Brian Selznick

No comments: